Jameson School District was the first in Missouri to consolidate when voters approved the reorganization of country schools during March, 1914. When the residents of any community desire to form a consolidated school district, a petition signed by at least 25 qualified voters of the community file a proposal with the county superintendent of schools. The county superintendent then plats the proposed district, determining the exact boundaries, and sets the day of election.

On March 19, 1914, the first consolidated school in Missouri was organized in Grand River Township, including the town of Jameson and five rural school districts: Grant, Brown, Laswell and Brushy Creek in Grand River Township and Beck in Liberty Township — an area of 37 square miles. In April 1915, a 3-story brick building was built for nearly $30,000. The plaque above the double front doors of the school building is shown.

By a vote of 142-69 in balloting conducted on a Thursday afternoon, Jameson school district voters approved the consolidation of 6 country schools into one reorganized school district. Schools included in the consolidation are Jameson, Laswell, Brown, Beck, Brushy Creek and Grant.

Transportation was also an issue decided that same time at the polls. The vote count was 154-15. Pupils who live a certain distance from school are to be provided means of transportation between their homes and the school. The question of distance is to be decided by the board of directors of the school district, probably at a mile radius.

Following this election, voters followed with an election two weeks later to decide the question of approving $20,000 in bonds for the construction of a new school building.

Consolidation of school districts is sweeping across Daviess County. Following Jameson’s decision, the Coffey district — including Coffey, McClary, Burnes, Feurt, Freeport, Shady Grove and a small part of the Everly district — will vote the following week. There is some opposition to this proposed consolidation, however.

The Blake district — including the Goodbar, McClung, Mann, Prairie Valley and Fairview schools — will also vote on consolidation on March 18, 1914.

— the Gallatin North Missourian, March 5, 1914