Stories

The Operations of 1864

In January 1864, the regiment were badly scattered, doing guard duty. The headquarters of the regiment were at Warrensburg, where two companies, L and M, were stationed. Company A was at Waverly, B at Calhoun, C at Chapel Hill, D at Kingsville, E at Germantown, F at Wellington, G and H at Lexington, I at Hopewell, and K at Osceola. Their principal business was guard duty and scouting, and this continued during January and February.

In January 1864, the regiment were badly scattered, doing guard duty. The headquarters of the regiment were at Warrensburg, where two companies, L and M, were stationed. Company A was at Waverly, B at Calhoun, C at Chapel Hill, D at Kingsville, E at Germantown, F at Wellington, G and H at Lexington, I at Hopewell, and K at Osceola. Their principal business was guard duty and scouting, and this continued during January and February.

In April, Lieutenant Triplett, with forty men of Company D, broke up a camp of guerrillas in Johnson County and captured from them an elegant regimental banner of the Fifth Infantry, Indiana Volunteers.

In May, Companies A, C and L were stationed at Warrensburg; B, E and K at Germantown; D and M at Holden; and F, G, H and I, under Captain Burris, were in the field in the western part of Lafayette County. Scouting and fighting the guerrillas continued until July, when the headquarters of the regiment were moved from Warrensburg to Mound Prairie, Lafayette County, July 14, and from there to Lexington on the 19th.

In the latter part of July, Lieutenant-Colonel Lazear was ordered to assume command of the regiment and operations in Lafayette and Saline counties, relieving Colonel McFerran. Colonel Lazear continued to operate in this district with his command until the 16th of September, when Colonel McFerran again assumed command. During this period the headquarters of the regiment were in the field.

On September 17th, Major Mullins, with one battalion, then in the field in Lafayette County, was ordered to proceed to Saline County and take command in that county, with headquarters at Marshall. The headquarters of the regiment in the meantime were established at the Little Snibar, Lafayete County.

Not long after this the regiment was sent first to Sedalia and then to Jefferson, finally arriving at the latter place in October 1864. The regiment was connected with the first brigade and while with it was engaged in the battles of Big Blue, Independence and Osage. The regiment was at Fort Scott on the 26th of October, when it was detailed to escort to Warrensburg the prisoners and artillery captured from the rebels by the brigade, and November first they made their headquarters for the winter at Warrensburg.

On the 1st of January, 1865, the regiment was stationed in the Central District of Missouri and was engaged in exterminating the band of guerrillas that infested that region of the country, and performing guard and escort duty, until mustered out.

It will be seen that the First Regiment was kept pretty busy during the time of the “great unpleasantness,” and with the exception of an occasional resignation, wounds and sickness, the companies from Daviess County were constantly in the field, their scope of duty being confined to Missouri. They had, therefore, no chance to distinguish themselves by participating in the many memorable battles on Southern soil, but they performed the duties assigned to them with zeal and deserved well of their country.

Company A

This company was mustered into service February 3, 1862, at Gallatin, Missouri, by Capt. T.B. Biggers. The company was commanded by Captain Joseph H. McGee of Gallatin, First Lieutenant Merdith Morris of Pattonsburg, and Second Lieutenant McClain Wilson of Monroe Township. Their commissions all bear date from February 3, 1862. One year and two months from the last date, April 3, 1863, Joseph McGee was promoted to major; March 26, 1863, Merdith Morris succeeded him as captain of the company, Benton Miller as first lieutenant, and McClain Wilson still holding his position of second lieutenant. Of these officers, Captain Morris was dismissed April 26, 1864; First Lieutenant Miller was mustered out February 11, 1865, having served out his term; and McClain Wilson resigned April 23, 1864.

Roll of Company A

Company A belonged to the first regiment of cavalry, Missouri State Militia. The roll of privates and non-commissioned officers is here given. A noble band who did their duty in the Union cause:

Company A Privates

Bear, Martin L., Bancroft
Blenkenship, Benjamin F., Gallatin
Blenkenship, Alfred, Gallatin
Browning, William R., Alto Vista
Barber, Elisha, Prairie City
Bartlett, John, Kidder
Brown, Solomon, Civil Bend
Crawford, Benjamin R., Civil Bend
Cutshall, John R., Bancroft
Clore, George W., Prairie City
Dutcher, William R., Gallatin
Downing, William, Alto Vista
Downing, Thomas, Alto Vista
Doll, John H., Kidder
Flemming, Thomas J., Alto Vista
Flemming, William H., Alto Vista
Frazier, Levi, Alto Vista
Fields, Stephen, Civil Bend
Frazier, Samuel, Civil Bend
Gray, James, Pattonsburg
Gentry, John A., Bancroft
Gentis, David, Civil Bend
Grantham, John E., Civil Bend
Garrison, Benjamin F., Alto Vista
Gray, William A., Pattonsburg
Handel, Isaac I., Gallatin
Harrah, James C., Prairie City
Hughes, John S., Victoria
Holmes, Henry, Gallatin
Haver, John, Civil Bend
Hughes, Joseph, Victoria
Hayes, Thomas F., Bancroft
Hines, James A., Alto Vista
Harter, George W., Kidder
Jones, John R., Gallatin
Johnson, Eleazer, Civil Bend
Leard, Alfred C., Alto Vista
Leard, Robert J., Alto Vista
Leard, William A., Alto Vista
McGee, James, Gallatin
McCrary, John W., Gallatin
Marshall, Dennis, Civil Bend
Moore, Robert N., Victoria
Netherton, James C., Gallatin
Poe, Jonathan, Prairie City
Poe, Abraham, Prairie City
Powell, George W., Victoria
Powell, William C., Victoria
Persinger, John, Pattonsburg
Royston, William H., Prairie City
Royston, James M., Prairie City
Royston, Benjamin F., Prairie City
Reed, Orange, Civil Bend
Roney, William, Kidder
Smith, Martin, Civil Bend
Sweaney, Andrew, Civil Bend
Snider, Lewis, Kidder
Schaffer, David, Gallatin
Shriver, Nathan, Gallatin
Shipley, James H., Bethany
Travis, Charles, Alto Vista
Utterback, Ferdinand, Victoria
Whitman, Thomas W., Bancroft
Woodey, Nathan, Pattonsburg

Transferred

Kenney, Patrick S., first sergeant, Kidder
Groomer, David, first corporal, Pattonsburg
Cope, John, private, Alto Vista
Frazier, William, private, Alto Vista
Frazier, Henry C., Alto Vista
Hilton, William H., Alto Vista
Leard, Alfred C., Alto Vista
Lewis, Jacob, Alto Vista
Lewis, Joseph P., Alto Vista
Hamm, John, Alto Vista
Jeffries, Martin P., Alto Vista
O’Neal, Thomas, Kidder
Wiebkir, Rodolph, Kidder

Discharged for Disability

Bear, Peter, second sergeant, Bancroft
Stone, George W., third sergeant, Gallatin
Tipton, George W., fifth sergeant, Victoria
Grantham, Robert H., sixth corporal, Civil Bend
Peniston, Thomas, bugler, Civil Bend
Miller, Seamon, private, Kidder
Leard, James G., private, Alto Vista
Everly, Samuel H., private, Gallatin
Field, Riley, private, Civil Bend
Grantham, William D., private, Gallatin
Miller, William F., private, Victoria
Sweaney, George, private, Civil Bend
Sego, Charles B., private, Pattonsburg

Died of Disease

Handel, Edward W., Gallatin
Dale, Thomas J., Bethany

Sergeants

Benton Miller, orderly sergeant, Kidder
William V. McGee, quarter-master sergeant, Gallatin
William C. Gillahan, company sergeant, Gallatin
Benjamin F. Poe, first sergeant, Prairie City
David E. Youtsey, second sergeant, Gallatin
William L. Powell, third sergeant, Gallatin
Lewis Heaston, fourth sergeant, Gallatin

Corporals

First, Isaac H. Wilson, Breckinridge
Second, Daniel Johns, Bethany
Third, Joshua Brown, Gallatin
Fourth, James Browning, Alto Vista
Fifth, George T. Netherton, Gallatin
Sixth, Charles W. Lake, Gallatin
Seventh, Wiley W. Stone, Gallatin
Eighth, John W. Hancock, Kidder

Actions engaged in

The first action this company was engaged in was fought at Kirksville, in Adair County, August 6, 1862. Two days after, August 8, they again met the enemy at Panther Creek, Macon County, and following them up, a short engagement ensued on Walnut Creek, and at Seaford the next day. On the 13th of August, four days after, they fought their next battle with Poindexter. This is the record of the first movements of this regiment. None were killed, but several wounded, among whom were William R. Dutcher, private, and David E. Youtsey, second sergeant, both of Gallatin.

Company G

Company G was organized March 27, 1862, with John Ballinger as captain, who ranked as such from March 16th of that year. The original roll of the company could not be found, but the roll of the company when mustered out was preserved by Lieutenant David Groomer and kindly furnished, and from which was taken the names of those who lived to return to their homes. Those who died from exposure or were killed in battle filled a soldier’s grave, and the memory of them will ever remain green. Time may lessen the violence of grief, but memory ever keeps her vigils, and as the one softens with passing years, the other ever rises bright and glorious, and with hope as its beacon light, holds fast until death.

Company G Privates

Brown, David
Blakely, Andrew C.
Caldwell, James H.
Crowder, James M.
Cope, John
Endicott, Jacob I.
Frazier, William
Frazier, Miles
Fansler, Thomas
Fansler, William
Fitts, Jackson
Galbreath, Squire
Hilton, William H.
Hill, David
Hindman, John C.
Jeffries, Martin P.
Leeper, Joseph
Mitchell, John T.
Morgan, Asa
McBride, Sylvester K.
McBride, James
Miller, George W.
Oram, James
Peugh, George W.
Reynolds, John M.
Shriver, Francis W.
Shriver, Nova Zembla
Sabens, Thomas B.
Smith, Jeremiah
Dilley, Barnett
Splawn, John B.
Splawn, Isaac N.
Smith, John N.
Jeffries, George W.
Walker, Albert G.
Ham, John F.
Hines, Benjamin F.
Miller, Michael
Harris, Seth H.
Orr Jasper N.
Payne, Ebenezer
Way, Charles A.
Orr, Moses
Rowhuff, James
French, Jesse N.
Day, John M.
Osborn, Carlow B.
Simms, Thomas
Allen, Charles W.
Bailey, Jasper N.
Benedict, Moses
Cope, Wiley
Cope, William B.
Cain, George L.
Duskins, William F.
Elliott, Gilford
Gilkey, Robert T.
Grindstaff, Julius
Hall, George W.
Johnson, James G.
Jacques, Gabriel M.
Lewis, Joseph P.
Miller, John H.
McClure, James
McClure, David
Owen, Richard
Payne, Reuben L.
Pilcher, Francis L.
Rop, James L.
Rowland, John D.
Rhoades, Charles W.
Sabens, William M.
Stout, William S.
Starr, William M.
Starr, James
Stephens, Wiley
Wright, John R.
Wheeling, Harrison
Worley, William T.
Wilson, Matthew

Killed in battle

Lewis Jacob, bugler, killed August 9, 1862, at Panther Creek, Missouri.

Died

James, John, died May 12, 1862, at Gallatin.
Clevinger, Pitman A., died April 5, 1862, at Gallatin.
Place, Peter, died May 6, 1862, at Gallatin.
Gillihan, Benona H., died July 14, 1862, at Chillicothe.
Fitts, George W., died August 19, 1862, at Chillicothe.
Orr, Patrick M., died November 8, 1864, at Jefferson City.
Pennington, William J., died November 21, 1864, at Warrensburg.

Discharged

Risdon, John, discharged for drunkenness, June 12, 1862.
Jordon James, discharged for drunkenness, June 30, 1862.
Harmon, Jacob C., discharged for drunkenness, June 30, 1862.
Harmon, Richard M., discharged for disability, July 10, 1862.
Harmon, David, discharged for disability, July 10, 1862.
Murphy, Thomas, discharged for drunkenness, July 13, 1862.
O’Neal, Thomas, discharged for disability, October 18, 1862.
Keene, Joseph B., discharged for disability, October 12, 1862.
Shadwick, Levi, discharged for disability, November 4, 1862.
England, William, discharged for disability, November 4, 1862.
Place, Richard J. discharged for disability, November 14, 1862.
Knight, Thomas, discharged for disability, June 13, 1862.
Fields, Thomas, discharged for disability, November 20, 1862.
Brown, Joel R., discharged for disability, November 7, 1862.
Dilley, Barnett, discharged for disability, February 11, 1863.
Splawn, John B., discharged for disability, March 14, 1863.
Splawn, Isaac N., discharged for disability, March 14, 1863.
Smith, John N., discharged for disability, March 14, 1863.
Jeffries, George W., discharged for disability, March 14, 1863.
Walker, Albert G., discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Ham, John T., discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Hines, Benjamin F., discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Miller, Michael, discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Harris, Seth H., discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Orr, Jasper N., discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Payne, Ebenezer, discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Way, Charles A., discharged for disability, June 7, 1863.
Orr, Moses, discharged for disability, November 27, 1863.
Rowhuff, James, discharged for disability, May 17, 1864.
French, Jesse N., discharged for disability, June 20, 1863.
Day, John M., discharged for horse stealing, July 15, 1863.
Moore, James, deserted, April 20, 1863.
Stephens, John E., deserted, May 16, 1863.

Non-commissioned officers
Sergeants

Alfred R. Leard
Joseph Dilley
Benjamin H. Hines
David K. Eads
Charles M. Rogers
Eli McClure
Davis Lewellyn
Isaac Summers
David M. Heath, discharged for disability, August 4, 1862.
Nathan Johnson, discharged for disability, April 8, 1864.
James Johnson, died at home in Daviess County, November 3, 1862.

Corporals

William G. Stow
Bailey Webb
Harvey Dilley
Henry C. Frazier
Willis Dilley
Daniel Pilcher
William H. Elliott
Carl R. Lord, discharged for disability, March 14, 1863.
Joseph P. Lewis, discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Ira C. Tuttle, discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
Henry Dilley, discharged for disability, April 27, 1863.
George W. Hall, discharged for disability, February 28, 1863.
John L. Shriver, discharged for disability, March 14, 1863.
Luther Ferrington, deserted, May 16, 1863.

Roll of Company B

The following, as far as could be ascertained, is the roll of privates and non-commissioned officers of Company B, Captain Folmsbee. The original muster roll could not be found:

Company B Privates

Alexander, John
Allen, Isaac
Atwell, ——
Brown, William
Baker, Guy
Baker, Harvey
Bashford, Cline
Butler, Francis
Butrick, William
Butrick, G.
Bender, James
Bender, Robert
Bender, John
Blessing, Henry
Critton, Erve
Critton, James
Cole, Harvey
Collins, Thomas
Castor, J.
Castor, Benjamin
Castor, William
Castor, C.
Critton, Joseph
Charles, C.
Daniels, C.
Daniels, James
Elmore, ——
Enyart, Richard
French, J.
Fulcher, ——
Fannon, William
Fannon, Joseph
Gipson, Thomas
Harolson, ——
Henderson, ——
Harmon, J.
Hoover, Isaac
Harmon, ——
Johnson, B.
Keene, Gabriel
Knight, J.
Laswell, A.J.
Laswell, John
Landers, Joseph
Leber, Isaac
Lewis, Sylvester
Mann, Adam
Morris, John
Miries, ——
Matthews, David
Myers, S.
MacFarland, Marshall
McGarvin, David
McGarvin, Dennis
McCarty, Dennis
McCarty, David
McClure, John
McKinney, Arthur
Nichols, D.
Norton, J.
Noah, Uriah
Nichols, Joseph
Nichols, Rhodes
Nichols, John
Nations, Edward
Ohar, M.
Place, F.A.
Paxton, Doc
Reader, Robert
Renn, William
Rhodes, N.
Snider, Henry
Snider, Henry, Caldwell County
Shanks, Michael
Story, G.
Story, Mounce
Story, John
Sego, Lemuel
Sitch, Perry
Savey, L.
Savey, William
Tracy, D.
Woodson, Richard
Wilson, Adam
Ward, James
Webster, Hiram

Non-commissioned officers

Daniel Lebow, sergeant
Commissioned officers’ record, First Cavalry Regiment Missouri State Militia
Apr. 9, 1862 James McFerran Col. Mar. 31, 1862 Mustered out expiration of term, Feb., 1865
Feb. 24, 1862 A.M. Woolfolk Lt.-Col. Feb. 24, 1862 Resigned March 25, 1863
Apr. 6, 1863 Bazel F. Lazear Lt.-Col. Sept. 13, 1862 Mustered out expiration of term, April 20, 1865
Apr. 9, 1862 Samuel P. Cox Major Mar. 12, 1862 Resigned January 26, 1863
May 15, 1862 A.W. Mullins Major May 15, 1862 Mustered out expiration of term, March 30, 1865
Mar. 26, 1863 J.H. McGee Major Mar. 26, 1862 Resigned Nov. 17, 1863
Feb. 16, 1864 Henry Neil Major Feb. 16, 1864 Mustered out expiration of term, April 11, 1865
Oct. 14, 1862 P.S. Kennedy 1st Lt. & Q.M. Oct 14, 1862 Mustered out expiration of term, April 11, 1865

Company A

Feb. 10, 1862 J.H. McGee Capt. Feb. 3, 1862 Promoted to Major March 26, 1863
Apr. 10, 1863 Meredith Morris Capt. Apr. 3, 1863 Dismissed April 26, 1864
Feb. 10, 1862 Meredith Morris 1st Lt. Feb. 3, 1862 Promoted Captain April 3, 1863
Apr. 10, 1863 Benton Miller 1st Lt. Apr. 3, 1863 Mustered out expiration of term, Feb. 11, 1865
Feb. 10, 1862 McClain Wilson 2nd Lt. Feb. 3, 1862 Resigned April 23, 1864

Company B

Feb. 10, 1862 Wm. H. Folmsbee Capt. Feb 3, 1862 Resigned October 3, 1863
Nov. 9, 1863 S.N. Gaskill Capt. Nov. 4, 1863 Resigned April 2, 1864
Apr. 14, 1864 J.T. Goodbrake Capt. Apr. 14, 1864 Mustered out expiration of term, Feb. 12, 1864
Feb. 10, 1862 J.T. Goodbrake 1st Lt. Feb 5, 1862 Promoted Captain April 14, 1864
June 10, 1864 S.N. Gaskill 1st Lt. June 6, 1864 Mustered out expiration of term, Feb. 18, 1864
Feb. 10, 1862 Joshua Rhodes 2nd Lt. Feb. 4, 1862 Dismissed for incompetency S.O., 232, A.G.O. Mo., December 21, 1863

Company G
Mar. 27, 1862 John Ballinger Capt. Mar. 16, 1862 Resigned June 28, 1864
Mar. 27, 1862 P.S. Kennedy 1st Lt. Mar. 16, 1862 Apt’d R.Q.M. Oct. 14, 1862
Dec. 6, 1862 Wm. Kessinger 1st Lt. Oct. 18, 1862 Mustered out expiration of term, March, 1865
Mar. 27, 1862 D. Groomer 2d Lt Mar. 6, 1862 Mustered out expiration of term, March, 1865

Daviess County men of the Missouri Brigade CSA

During the Civil War about 150 Daviess County men were in the Confederate service. Of those at least 90 were in the Missouri Brigade CSA. Most of these Daviess County men responded to the call of Governor Jackson in June 1861 and became part of the Missouri State Guard (MOSG).

During the Civil War about 150 Daviess County men were in the Confederate service. Of those at least 90 were in the Missouri Brigade CSA. Most of these Daviess County men responded to the call of Governor Jackson in June 1861 and became part of the Missouri State Guard (MOSG).

They reported to J.H. Winston of Platte County and were placed under Col. Elijah E. Gates (1827-1915) who was from Easton, Buchanan County. Lt. Col. Richard Chiles of Gates staff formed a company of Pattonsburg men with a few from other towns in Daviess County.

The Chiles Battalion served about 4? months with battles at Blue Mills and Lexington. The first Daviess County man killed is believed to have been David Enyart, captain of Company G, MOSG, 1st Calvary, 4th Division. He was killed in action on Aug. 10, 1861, at the battle of Wilson’s Creek, Mo.

Lt. Col. Chiles from Pattonsburg was married to Permilia G. Enyart, daughter of H.W. and Mary Ann Enyart. Permilia’s brother, Logan Enyart, Captain CSA, commanded Company B, Extra Cavalry Battalion (ECB), 4th Division of the MOSG and commanded Co.G of the 1st Mo. Calvary after it was organized in December 1861 at Springfield.
After the battle of Pea Ridge March 7, 1862, the 1st Missouri Cavalry and the 3rd Missouri Infantry were ordered to move east of the Mississippi. The Cavalry left their horses at Des Arc, Ark. on April 6 and crossed at Memphis.

The 1st and 3rd formed part of the Missouri Brigade and battled together as infantry for the rest of the war. Captain Enyart commanded Company B of that regiment until he was captured at Franklin, Tenn.

The Missouri Brigade was in many battles including Pea Ridge, Corinth, Vicksburg, Kennesaw Mt., Atlanta and in defense of Mobile, Ala., where the Brigade was captured at Blakeley April 9, 1865, along with the commander, Col. Gates.

Lt. Col. Chiles reports that he resigned June 15, 1862, from the Brigade and returned to Missouri to fight with Quantrill. Chiles was shot in the breast Oct. 6, 1864, and died of that injury six years later.

Capt. Enyart survived the war but suffered a wound in his left arm and left eye. He was captured twice.

After the war, Daviess County CSA vets formed the Cravens Camp #912 at Gallatin (1881-1906) of the United Confederate Veterans (UCV) and some of its members of that unit came to Daviess County after the war.

The above information was taken from the Confederate Roll of Missouri by Leslie Anders, Civil War on the Border 1861-62 by Britton, the First Mo. Cavalry Reg. CSA by James Farley and records of the Sons of Confederate Veterans and other records at the Gallatin library.

Prepared by David Stark

Cravens a Respected Pioneer

J.Cravens, M.D., was one of the most highly esteemed pioneers of Daviess County. The county’s Confederate States of America veterans’ post selected Cravens for its chapter namesake.

J.Cravens, M.D., was one of the most highly esteemed pioneers of Daviess County. The county’s Confederate States of America veterans’ post selected Cravens for its chapter namesake.

John Cravens, son of Dr. Joseph and Mary Cravens, was born in Harrisonburg, Rockingham County, Va., Oct. 28, 1797, where he was reared and educated. At the age of 19, he began the study of medicine under his father, and began practice some six years later.

After practicing with his father two years, he moved to Hardy County, Va., now West Virginia, and began practice at Petersburg. After remaining there one year, he moved to Pendleton County and opened an office in Franklin, the county seat. He was an active practitioner in that county for 10 years.

In 1837 he moved to Missouri and settled near Miami, where he lived 18 months. During that time he gave up the practice of his profession and changed his place of residence of Daviess County. He located near Gallatin in the spring of 1839, where he pursued farming and continued practicing medicine until 1850.

In 1850, he moved to Gallatin and gave his attention exclusively to his increasing practice. In 1857, he returned to his farm, one mile northwest of Gallatin. He continued the practice of medicine until the close of the war, when owing to his advanced age and impaired hearing he gave up the practice entirely, devoting his attention to his farm.

In 1842 he was elected presiding justice of the County Court, holding the office until 1846, and subsequently was twice elected to the same office. In 1861 he was appointed brigade-surgeon in the Confederate service under Gen. William Y. Slack. He was with Gen. Slack until his death at the battle of Pea Ridge, Ark., on March 6, 1862. After that he served as surgeon in various departments until the close of the war.

Dr. Cravens was united in marriage to Miss Rhuama Chaplin of Rockingham County, Va. They became the parents of 10 children. Six of those children were Caroline, wife of John Leopard of this county; Amanda, wife of Maj. W.D. McDonald of this county; Robert O., a resident of California; William of Springfield; Jeremiah C., an attorney at Springfield; and Edgar H. of this county. Elizabeth, wife of Philip R. Wirt, died in Gallatin on March 1, 1868; Joseph C. was killed by lightning on May 28, 1848; John, a practicing physician of Gallatin, died April 23, 1876; and Oscar, died in Gallatin on Jan. 26, 1855.

Mrs. Cravens was a devout member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South for over 60 years. Dr. Cravens was initiated into the mysteries of Freemasonry in 1826, becoming a member of Rockingham Union Lodge No. 26, Harrisonburg, Va. He was one of the founders of the first masonic lodge in Gallatin, and was the first worshipful master. Dr. and Mrs. Cravens were among the pioneers of Daviess County, and were highly esteemed by all who knew them.

1882 History of Daviess County book, pg. 530

Tragedy, murder linked to this Civil War revolver

Capt. William Brumfield’s 5-shot Manhattan Navy revolver to be displayed at the 1889 Squirrel Cage Jail and visitors’ center in Gallatin, MO

Capt. William Brumfield’s 5-shot Manhattan Navy revolver to be displayed at the 1889 Squirrel Cage Jail and visitors’ center in Gallatin, MO

A new display exhibiting a Civil War pistol linked to tragedy and murder in Daviess County has been acquired. The revolver is believed to be that used by the notorious Union Capt. William Brumfield who was shot to death on the south side of the Gallatin business square in the bitter aftermath of the war.

Plans are underway to eventually display the revolver at the Daviess County Visitors’ Center located at the historical 1889 Squirrel Cage Jail in Gallatin.

Research by David Stark provides the background which marks the pistol’s place in local history.

In August, 1862, Capt. William Brumfield was elected to command Company D 33rd Reg. EMM (Enrolled Missouri Militia). Brumfield was from Washington Township (his grave site is still marked by a headstone at the Old Scotland Church). Brumfield also served as a private in the 43rd Reg. MVI (Missouri Volunteer Infantry) from September, 1864, until war’s end. In both periods of service he was under the command of Lt. Col. William Flint, who later was the Daviess County Sheriff at the time of Brumfield’s death in July, 1868.

Capt. Brumfield’s early period of service was at Breckenridge in neighboring Caldwell County. The Union held control in Daviess County but rebels were active to the east and south. Brumfield was relieved from duty after 180 days and his Company D disbanded in early 1863. According to Mr. Stark’s research, it appears that Brumfield and some friends, upon their own initiative, murdered Confederates and men who helped the rebel cause in the eastern part of Daviess County.

In April, 1863, Jonathan Oxford was taken from his home and murdered at the Clear Creek Church. George Crews and Thomas Peery were ambushed near Breckenridge in September, 1863, by Brumfield and his friends.

Robert Ford of Coffey was murdered in June, 1864. In the fall of 1864, Thomas Peery’s father, Col. William Peery C.S.A. (Gen. Slack’s paymaster), and Lt. Williams were surprised in their sleep and murdered east of Lock Springs. James Weldon C.S.A. was taken from his home and murdered “by a captain from Caldwell County with a group of his men.”

In August, 1866, William Crews was murdered at the Clear Creek Church by “Brumfield and Nickols.” Mr. Stark suggests that Nichols may have been Lt. Mounce Nickols or one of his sons from Jackson Township. It was reported that Crews was murdered because he planned to avenge the death of his brother, George, and friend, Thomas Peery.

On July 27, 1868 ? about 18 months before Capt. John Sheets was murdered by Frank and Jesse James during the savings association robbery in Gallatin ? Capt. Brumfield was shot and killed south of the courthouse by Pvt. Solomon Tomlin. Tomlin had served in Brumfield’s command at Breckenridge for 68 days in 1862-63.

Unlike Capt. Sheets, Brumfield was not liked nor respected. In November, 1868, a grand jury issued a bill charging Tomlin with murder in the first degree but Tomlin was never tried in court. The particulars of the charge were written in a humorous language, and Tomlin had long since left the county with his family.

The most detailed account of the killing of Brumfield is in the 1882 History Book, starting on page 232. The following summarizes that account:

Brumfield had a murderous instinct and bullying manner which made people afraid. It seems that on a raid in Buchanan County, Tomlin and Brumfield had appropriated several horses. In the division of the property, the two men exchanged bitter words which crescendoed until Brumfield declared he would kill Tomlin.

On the day of Brumfield’s murder, Brumfield went to Tomlin’s home located two miles south of Gallatin. He intended to call him out. Tomlin’s wife, Julia, told Brumfield that her husband had gone to Gallatin. Brumfield vowed that she would never see her husband alive again. He also told her that he would be back that night to hang Tomlin’s hat on the gate post.

Brumfield learned in Gallatin that Tomlin was hiding in Lt. Benton Miller’s store located on the south side of the business square. Brumfield exited from the courthouse yard through the south gate, going directly toward the store. Tomlin was watching and saw Brumfield approaching with revolver in hand.

The store owner ordered Tomlin to leave. Tomlin, armed with a double-barrel shotgun, stepped out of the store and shot Brumfield in the chest before Brumfield could raise his revolver.
That revolver eventually came into the possession of J. Paul Croy. The Manhattan 5-shot cap and ball revolver is marked by Serial #13201.

If you have pictures of any of those mentioned in this summary of Mr. Stark’s research or information relating to this firearm or story, please respond by notifying the Daviess County Historical Society through Gallatin Publishing Company, 660-663-2154.

Daviess Countians in the Union’s F Company

This list of over 100 Union infantry soldiers from Daviess County serving in F Company is taken from the minutes kept at the Daviess County Courthouse, cross-referenced to the 1882 History of Daviess County which indicated only 55 or so soldiers were unidentified.

This list of over 100 Union infantry soldiers from Daviess County serving in F Company is taken from the minutes kept at the Daviess County Courthouse, cross-referenced to the 1882 History of Daviess County which indicated only 55 or so soldiers were unidentified.

SERVING FROM SEPT. 8, 1864 to JUNE 30, 1865:

Pvt. Francis M. Adkins
Pvt. John H. Adkinson
Pvt. George D. Arney
Pvt. Henry G. Armstrong
Pvt. William Brumfield
Pvt. Joel M. Brown
Pvt. William M. Bond
Pvt. James F. Burrel
Pvt. Willis S. Boyce
Pvt. Absolum Bonzier
Pvt. William R. Boren
Pvt. Hiram E. Barnett
Pvt. Alonzo Chaplin (Chapman)
Pvt. Seth M. Carter
Pvt. John D. Chapman
Pvt. John A. Cline
Pvt. Leonard Dinnell
Pvt. Richard (Riche) Daniels
Pvt. Peter C. Dowell
Pvt. Beden L. Davis
Pvt. Nathaniel L. Durgin
Pvt. Soloman S. Endicott
Pvt. James W. Eads
Pvt. Thomas H. Elmore
Pvt. William P. Frisbee
Pvt. Joseph H. Frazier
Pvt. Brazeal Frazier
1st Cpl. Issac N. Goodwin
Pvt. Cornelius Grantham
Drummer Pvt. Francis E. Greenwood
Pvt. John D. Henderson
8th Cpl. Coydon Hart
2nd Sgt. Silas H. Hammond
Pvt. John L. Herndon
Pvt. Thomas P. Higgins
Pvt. Isaac I. Herndon
Pvt. William H. Hart
Pvt. Oliver H. Hendricks
Pvt. Thomas J. Hendricks
Pvt. Samuel P. Hammonds
7th Cpl. John R. Hendricks
Pvt. William E. Jenkins
5th Cpl. Joseph H. Knott
Pvt. Abraham Lunsford
Pvt. John Lee
Pvt. William Myers
Pvt. Jonathan McClure
Pvt. Thomas G. Marshall
Pvt. Jesse J. McCoy
Pvt. Eramus W.S. Nash
Pvt. James E. Nally
Pvt. James C. Poe
Pvt. Francis L. Reed
1st Sgt. Nathan E. Reed
Pvt. Powell Royston
Pvt. James Robb
Pvt. John A. Rader
Pvt. James K. Scott
6th Cpl. Gideon Smith
Pvt. Wilson T. Smith
Pvt. Jacob H. Sarrah
Pvt. William Stretch
Pvt. James C. Sharon
5th Sgt. Hugh Sharon
4th Sgt. William Tibbles
Pvt. David T. Terry
3rd Sgt. Lewis L. Terry
Pvt. William H. Tucker
Pvt. David F. Terry
Pvt. Harvey Totten
Pvt. William L. Thompson
Pvt. Aaron Terry
Pvt. Israel Vandike
Pvt. James P. Wright
Pvt. Felix Wild
Pvt. John Ward
Pvt. Alex Williams
Pvt. James (Janus) F. West
Pvt. John W. Whitman
Cpt. William F. Flint
1st Lt. John W. Johnson
2nd Lt. Thomas J. Flint
Pvt. Solomon F. Brown
Pvt. Charles Bristow
Pvt. John C. Butrick
Pvt. John Brown
Pvt. Andrew Brown
Pvt. John Culver
Pvt. Benjamin F. Curtis
Pvt. Alexander Cayton
Pvt. John W. Castor
Pvt. Elisha M. Creekmore
Pvt. Isaac Fettz
Pvt. John A. Frazier
Pvt. William Griffin
Pvt. George E. Griffin
Pvt. George Haines
Pvt. George Johnson
Pvt. Tilly (Telly) Jenks
Pvt. John Loop
Pvt. John M. Long
Pvt. John Lebo (Leabo)
Pvt. George McCray
Pvt. Jesse McCray
Pvt. William A. Mony (Money)
Pvt. James Patton
Pvt. Henry T. Reid
Pvt. Joseph Reynolds
Pvt. Washington Smith
Pvt. Edward Smith
Pvt. Robert Smith
Pvt. Simon Snider
Pvt. David Utt
Pvt. Benjamin F. Wooderson
Pvt. Joseph I. Wooderson
Pvt. William C. Rowland
Pvt. L.N. West
5th. Sgt. Robert S. Terry
Dr. J.N. Raley
Pvt. Braxton Browning
Pvt. William R. Browning
Pvt. Joseph M. Caldwell
Pvt. George W. Downing
Pvt. John V. Frazier
Pvt. Anderson Garrison
Pvt. Richard Jackson
Pvt. William J. Mathews
Pvt. Nathan R. Morrison
Pvt. Joseph Robinett
Pvt. John H. Searcy
Pvt. Jackson Searcy
Pvt. John P. Snow
Pvt. Smith P. Searcy
Pvt. Elijah E. Brunk
Pvt. William J. Williams
Pvt. William Leabo
Pvt. George W. Foster
Pvt. William Taylor
Pvt. Jerome Johnson
Pvt. Willis Browning
Pvt. John W. Gates

NOT FROM DAVIESS COUNTY:

Pvt. Larkin S. Flint (fifer)
2nd Cpl. James O. Frisbee
3rd Cpl. John F. Silby
4th Cpl. Philip Higgins
Pvt. William Bowyer
Pvt. John Hendrick
Pvt. Joseph Irwin
Pvt. William Bolin
Pvt. William Eads
Pvt. Andrew J. Foster
Pvt. William Miers
Pvt. John E. Smith
Pvt. C. Chapman
Pvt. Cornelius Yost
Pvt. Jacob Endicott

Prepared by David Stark

Infantry Attacked at Glasgow before Westport

About a week before the big cavalry battle at Westport, Daviess County men faced Confederate artillery at Glasgow and were forced to surrender.

About a week before the big cavalry battle at Westport, Daviess County men faced Confederate artillery at Glasgow and were forced to surrender.

In September, 1864, a company of Union infantry was formed in Daviess County under the command of Capt. William F. Flint. This was Company F of the 43rd Missouri Volunteer Infantry (MVI). Overall command was under Col. Chester Harding, Jr., the former State Adjutant General.

The 43rd Regiment had 10 companies. It is reported that six companies were at Glasgow. The regiment was signed up for 12 months but mustered out June 30, 1865, after 10 months service. There were 141 men of Daviess County signed into Company F. Each received a bounty of $100 from the county military tax fund. There were 15 other men in the company that did not get the Daviess County bounty.

In early October, 1864, the regiment was ordered to reinforce the garrison at Jefferson City. The regiment was attacked at Glasgow by Confederate General John B. Clark, Jr., whose forces occupied Boonville. Gen. Clark’s command at Glasgow consisted of his own brigade of cavalry, Marmaduke’s brigade and about 300 men in Gen. Shelby’s Division, commanded by Col. S.L. Jackman. There were about 1,700 men in total, including several pieces of artillery on the Rebel side. The Union force had no cavalry or artillery.

At dawn on Oct. 15, 1864, Gen. Shelby commenced the attack on Glasgow with one piece of artillery firing from the west bank of the Missouri River. Then Shelby opened a hot fire from six pieces of artillery stationed on the east bank of the river on hills south of Glasgow. The east battery was commanded by Major Pratt. The artillery first was directed on the steamer Western Wind, lying at the wharf. It was disabled and abandoned by the Union regiment. Then Shelby turned his big guns on Glasgow City Hall, used by Col. Harding as a commissary depot. Col. Harding’s men were forced to defend Glasgow from rifle pits. The city hall was set on fire. A northeast wind spread the fire to over a dozen houses which were entirely destroyed.

The Confederates completely surrounded Glasgow and had one strong position in the Dunnica House, only 225 yards from the rifle pits. The house was filled with rebel sharpshooters firing from 10 openings that fronted on the rifle pits.
Dr. Vaughan, an old resident of Glasgow, prevailed upon Gen. Clark to cease firing artillery upon the city. Dr. Vaughan volunteered to go to Col. Harding and request his surrender.

The Union had over 30 men killed or wounded and gave up about 1 p.m. Harding’s regiment was disarmed and escorted to Boonville. The Confederates had about an equal number killed or wounded. There were no men from Daviess County killed.

A force of Quantrell’s men, probably including Frank James, participated in the battle. Two days later they robbed the Glasgow, Thomson and Dunnica Bank of $21,000. Quantrell forced W.F. Dunnica to open the bank vault and safe but Dunnica saved $32,000 by having it buried at another location.

A list of the officers and soldiers of Company F is provided. These men were exchanged and were in active duty in the Central Missouri District until the close of war in April, 1865.

Prepared by David Stark

Confederate Memorial State Historic Site

The Confederate Memorial at Higginsville, MO (Lafayette County, south of the Missouri River) is the closest Confederate Memorial to the Northwest Missouri region.

The Confederate Memorial at Higginsville, MO (Lafayette County, south of the Missouri River) is the closest Confederate Memorial to the Northwest Missouri region.

The origins of today’s Confederate memorial date back more than 100 years.

In 1889, an annual reunion of Missouri Confederate veterans was held at Higginsville in Lafayette County. At the encampment, as it was called, a movement began that reflected similar benevolent projects in our other Southern states – to establish a Confederate veterans’ home.

Almost 30 years after the Civil War’s start, even the youngest of the veterans were moving well into middle age. The more prosperous of these aging men recognized the need to help impoverished veterans who never fully recovered from crippling wounds or diseases contracted during their years of service. Ex-veterans and interested parties joined forces and, with private funding, founded the Confederate Home Association.

Within a year, the association raised enough money to purchase 365 acres of prime farmland just north of Higginsville in West-central Missouri. Newly formed Southern patriotic women’s organizations such as the St. Louis-based Daughters of the Confederacy (forerunner to the national United Daughters of the Confederacy) and the local Ladies of Lafayette County also lent their talents and influence to raising funds for the construction and outfitting of dwellings. In April 1891, a Missouri veteran named Julius Bamberg became the first Confederate veteran in the state to receive admission as a resident of the new Confederate Home of Missouri.

During the Civil War, Bamberg had served as a Confederate soldier in Capt. Henry Guibor’s Missouri Battery in Gen. Sterling Price’s division. He later served as a special agent to Gen. Price and was captured by Union troops, tried as a spy and sent away to military prison for the duration of the war. Upon his parole at age 52, Bamberg was among the oldest men to have served in the Civil War. In 1891 at the age of 79, this St. Louis tailor and dressmaker became the first of more than 1,600 Confederate veterans, their wives and widows who eventually sought shelter at the home in their declining years.

By the mid 1890s, the Confederate Home faced serious financial crisis. Insufficient funding, due in part to a nationwide economic depression forced the Home Board to appeal to the state legislature to assume financial control, which it did in 1897. At the time, the state agreed that the home would not be closed until the last veteran or veteran’s widow died or left of his or her own accord.

As the years passed, the home continued to grow along with the aging veteran population in Missouri. At the height of its use, the home provided care for more than 300 veterans and their families. Eventually the property consisted of more than 30 buildings, a thriving farm and dairy and a memorial park that served both as an arboretum and a favorite fishing place for the veterans. They generated their own electricity, and the Missouri and Pacific train line even made a scheduled stop here. It was a community unto itself.

The home was conceived as a place of refuge for honorable and deserving ex-soldiers. Many application rules existed to keep out undeserving or undesirable applicants – such as men who may have deserted during the war. The first of these rules required Missouri residency for one, and later, two years, as well as proof of honorable service with the Confederacy in any state. This effectively excluded many applicants. Even so, the home cemetery records show that soldiers from Missouri, and the other border states of Kentucky and West Virginia, as well as soldiers from every state in the Confederacy except Florida lived and died here.

Unlike many other Southern veterans’ institutions, Missouri allowed the admittance of women and children from its inception. First wives were always allowed into the home with their husbands; however, admittance of second and third wives was subject to Home Board approval. Only children under the age of 14 could be admitted.

Another rule required the applicant to prove his (or the deceased spouse’s) military record by writing to the Adjutant General’s office in Washington, D.C., for official verification. Lacking such official records, the applicant also could obtain written affidavits from fellow veterans with whom they served. Sometimes the Home Board required further explanations. For instance, applicant John Way had to explain why his service record included duty with both the Union and Confederate armies. After being captured, Way was given some uninviting choices – continued imprisonment, Union service against fellow Confederates or fighting Indians in the West. Way chose the latter and served out his time with the federal army in Colorado. The board accepted his explanation and allowed both his wife and him entrance to the home.

Two other hurdles the applicants were required to pass also were considered the most demeaning: poverty and sanity. To receive entry, the applicant could have no assets, no relatives willing to take them in, nor any means of earning a livelihood; even the meager $10 military service pension provided by the state had to be forfeited. A doctor’s examination also was required to prove the applicant still possessed a sound mind and had no “infectious” diseases.

All veterans listed their rank and branch of service in their home applications. Most of them were infantry, artillery and cavalry privates; but there also were men who served as officers, sharpshooters, partisan guerrillas, musicians, paid conscription substitutes, gunboat engineers and sailors on the first ironclads. The most unusual included a member of the Cherokee Mounted Rifles, a spy and an Alabama drillmaster. The veterans served in every theater of war and in every major battle from the first shot fired at Fort Sumter to the last at Appomattox.

The “comrades,” as they commonly referred to one another, were minor celebrities in Missouri, and often were displayed alongside those seeking political office. Senator Harry Truman once visited the home, as did the perennial presidential hopeful and silver standard advocate William Jennings Bryan.

The United Daughters of the Confederate lavished the men and women at the home with attention by holding holiday celebrations, dances, memorial services and other events regularly. They also awarded medals of honor to the veterans, gave them appropriately dyed suits of gray, and provided the women with new dresses.

Local school children, now adults still living in the area, remember visiting the home, as well as Southern veterans throughout Missouri, was Decoration Day. Held annually on June 3, it was the Southern equivalent of Memorial Day and was traditionally held on the anniversary of the birth of the Confederate president, Jefferson Davis. They celebrated the day with picnics, speeches by former Confederate officers and, most significantly, the decoration of the graves in the home cemetery.

The last veteran buried in that cemetery was Johnny Graves, a private in Gen. Joseph Shelby’s army. On May 8,1950, Graves, the last surviving Missouri Confederate veteran, passed away at the Missouri Confederate Home at the grand age of 108. He was buried alongside 803 veterans, wives and children, a full 53 years after the passing of the first resident. A handful of widows, the majority of whom were born after the Civil War ended, were transferred to a nursing home in Columbia, despite the agreement made 53 years earlier.

Because many of the home structures were dilapidated, the decision was made to demolish them. The structurally sound buildings and most of the acreage were then transferred to the Missouri Department of Mental Health. In 1952, the remaining property, consisting of the 90-acre Confederate Memorial Park, the cemetery, and a cottage were delivered into the care of the Missouri State Park Board, which administered the state park system before it was turned over to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources in 1974.

Today, Confederate Memorial State Historic Site consists of 192 acres and now also includes the original chapel, an old farmhouse and the last building erected at the home – the 1922-era hospital building. Visitors to the site today can enjoy the memorial park with its many small lakes, fine old trees and beautifully kept lawns. Here they can take part in fishing, picnicking and other outdoor activities. They also can venture to the site of the former home buildings, where they can walk through the 106-year-old chapel and the historic graveyard where the veterans and their families rest. Three other buildings, the farmhouse, hospital and cottage, are open to viewing from outside. Exhibits and displays throughout the park and historic area tell the story of the Confederate Home of Missouri.

Confederate Memorial State Historic Site is located on Business Highway 13, one mile north of Higginsville in Lafayette County. For information, call the site directly at (816) 584-2853 or call the Department of Natural Resources toll free at 1-800-334-6946, or 1-800-379-2419 with a Telecommunications Device for the Def (TDD).

Source: Missouri Resources, Winter 1997-98, Vol. 14, Number 4. Written by Jill G. White, the historic site administrator at Confederate Memorial State Historic Site.

Confederate Service Daviess County Citizens

Here’s a list of 148 Daviess Countians confirmed to have served the Confederacy during the Civil War. The following 94 were in the Missouri Brigad.

Here’s a list of 148 Daviess Countians confirmed to have served the Confederacy during the Civil War. The following 94 were in the Missouri Brigad.

22 3rd Mo Inf
56 1st Mo Cav
16 MOSB Price
MOSG – Missouri State Guard (Organized at Springfield Dec. 31, 1862)
MOSB Missouri State Brigade
ECB Extra Cavalry Battalion
UCV United Confederate Veterans
Cravens’ Camp of UCV Gallatin Camp #912 (1881-1906)

Allen, Dr. J.T. MSG Cav/Rives Camp #912 UCV
Arnold, William 2Lt. MSG D-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Baker, N.A. 22nd VA Inf/K Camp #912 UCV
Ball, A.C. Pvt. Austin’s Indep. Co. Camp #912 UCV also 10th Mo Cav/K
Beard, W.S. 1st Ark Inf/K Camp #912 UCV
Berry, James H. 25th Va Inf/G
Best, Silas Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G(B)
Bond, Hiram Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G
Boston, B.F. CSA/2 Tx Pension #176
Bowen, James A. Stanwerty Staff Camp #912 UCV
Bray, William MOSG Cav Pension #372
Broughton, N. Pvt. 10th Mo Cav/K Camp #912 UCV
Brown, John M. 1st/3rd MOSG
Buchanan, Enoch 2Lt. MOSG/C-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Blizzard, J.W.C. Sgt 3rd MoInf/E 5/15/63 KIA Baker’s Creek
Chiles, Richard B. Lt. Col. Gates Staff MOSG Resigned 6/15/62
Claudas, Pitt Pvt. 6th Mo Inf/K Camp #912 UCV
Coulson, William H. Sgt. 3rd Mo Inf/F 12/1/62 Died of wound, Corinth, Miss.
Cox, Larkan J. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/A 11/1/62 KIA Hatchie Brg.
Cravens, John M.D. Slack Staff/Others Conf. Surgeon
Crusen, N.G., Sr. (Nat) Pvt. 9th Mo Inf/E (G) Camp #912 UCV
Davis, Edward Lt 3rd Mo Inf/F 11/30/64 KIA Franklin, Tenn.
Davis, Josiah R. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/F 6/1/63 Died of wound Baker’s Creek, Miss.
Dearing, James R. Cpl. 1st Mo Cav/G Cap. Blakeley, Ala.
Dehring, James R. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Camp #912 UCV
Doty, Charles B. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/E 6/9/64 KIA Kennesaw Mt., Ga.
Duren, James T. 2nd /1st Brg/D
Ellis, L.A. (Lewis) Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Camp #912 UCV
Enyard(t), David Capt. MOSG/G-1C-4D 8/10/61 KIA Wilson’s Creek, MO.
Enyart(d), Logan Capt. MOSG/B-ECB-4D Camp #912 UCV
Ervin, Levi M. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G 5/16/63 KIA Baker’s Creek, Miss.
Estes, J.W. Pvt. 54th Ky Cav Camp #912 UCV
Ewing, George D. Pvt. 4th Ky Cav/A Camp #912 UCV
Fannin, W.L. 3Cpl. Williams Cav Captured 1865 LA.
Faulkner, Daniel Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/E 11/24/62 Died Oxford, Miss.
Faulkner, K.H. (King) Lt. 3rd Mo Inf/C (E) Captured
Foley, E.M. 1Lt. MOSG/G-1C-4D MOSB-Price
Ford, T.R. Pvt. 12th Tn Cav/I Camp #912 UCV
Fugate, James St. Louis Batry
Gee, Lewis Pvt. 1Lt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured 1/2/65
Gee, Thompson 1Lt. 1st Mo Cav/G Cap. Franklin, Tenn.
Gilkey, Richard Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G 6/15/63 KIA Vicksburg, Miss.
Gillian, J.D. 1st Mo Cav
Gillian, William M. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/E 6/27/64 KIA Kennesaw Mt., Ga.
Githens, J.D. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Big Black, Miss.
Githens, Pascal W. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Detached Des Arc, Ark.
Githens, Presley Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Detached Des Arc, Ark.
Green, J.T. Pvt. MOSG Cav/Rives Camp #912 UCV
Haines, J.W. Elliot’s Cav/C
Hamilton, Jackson 3Lt. MOSG/A-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Hays, Shadrick L.(K.) Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Edward’s Depot
Herald, George W. 1stSgt. 1st Mo Cav/G Deserted Dec. 62
Henderson, J.W. Capt MOSG/D-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Henderson, Robert A. 4Sgt. 1st Mo Cav/G 10/15/62 KIA Lauerdale, Miss.
Hillman, John 3rd Mo Inf.
Hoffman, H. 1Lt. MOSG/C-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Hogan, C.C. Capt. MOSG/G-1C-4D MOSB-Price
Hopkins, George Pvt. 3rd/5th Mo Inf/D Camp #912 UCV
Hornsby, Samuel M. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav Discharged 2/6/64
Houghton, J. Pvt. 6th Va Cav/B Camp #912 UCV
Hunter, James N. Pvt. Wither’s Arty. Camp #912 UCV
Jackson, T.B. Capt. MOSG Camp #912 UCV
Johnson, Lucian P. Capt. 1st Mo Cav/C 10/3/62 KIA Cornith, Miss.
Jones, A.W. Pvt. Williams Cav. Captured 1865 La.
Justice, Harry Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Detached Des Arc, Ark.
Kivett, H.N. 6th Mo Inf/C
Knight, J.F. Pvt. William’s Cav. Captured 1865 La.
Langford, Loy 3Lt MOSG/G-1C-4D MOSB-Price
Langford, James W. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/F 9/5/64 KIA Lovejoy, Ga.
Latham, Daniel Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Discharged 11/12/62
Lawson, Oscar D. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/C Discharged Franklin, Tenn
Ledgerwood, Jacob Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Wounded Jonesburo 9/6/64
Ledgerwood, John Sgt. 1st Mo Cav/G 7/15/62 Died of Disease L.R., Ark.
Ledgerwood, William 2Lt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Big Black, Miss.
Linville, B.F. 1Lt. MOSG/B-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Lockwood, Henry Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G 3/7/62 KIA Pea Ridge, Ark.
Lynn, Gustaves Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Camp #912 UCV
Macrawder, J.A. 5th VA Cav/D Camp #912 UCV
Maloney, M.T. Pvt. 13th VA Battery Inf/E Camp #912 UCV
Mann, Jacob Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Big Black, Miss.
Manon, I. Pvt. Hooper’s Cav. Captured 1865 La.
Mattox, Thomas 1Lt. MOSG/D-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
May, Gabriel Pvt. 4th Ky Cav/E Camp #912 UCV
McCabe, John Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/E died 4/5/62 L.R., Ark.
McCartney, George S. Camp #912 UCV
McCartney, William Camp #912 UCV
McClung, W.H. 14th VA Cav County Cir. Clerk 1886-94
McClung, Jeremiah Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Jonesburo
McCroskey, Samuel Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Detached Des Arc, Ark.
McCue, George Pvt. Elliot’s Cav/B Camp #912 UCV
McCue, James Lt Elliot’s Cav/B Camp #912 UCV
McCue, Matthew Civilian POW
McCue, R.M. Pvt. Elliot’s Cav/B Camp #912 UCV
McDaniel, Archie Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Big Black, Miss.
McDow, H.H. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/F 5/22/63 KIA Vicksburg, Miss.
McLaughlin, John Civilian POW
McMiller, James Sgt. 1st Mo Cav/G Camp #912 UCV
McMillion, James Sgt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Blakeley, Ala.
McNeal, W.S. MOSG Cav/Rives
Mead, William 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Blakeley, Ala.
Morgan, James M. Cpl. 1st Mo Cav/G
Murry, Timothy Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Springfield, Mo.
Neal, J.W. Pvt. 4th VA Inf/F Camp #912 UCV
Nehterton, Benjamin F. Pvt 1st Mo Cav/G 1/15/62 Died of Disease in Springfield
Netherton, Charles Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Big Black, Miss.
Netherton, Daniel 4th Sgt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Blakeley, Ala.
Netherton, William H. 2Lt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Franklin, Tenn.
O’Farrall, G.L. Lt. Shelby’s Cav Camp #912 UCV
Patton, William C. Capt. MOSG/D-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Peery, John H. 3rd Mo Inf
Perry, Thomas E 2Lt. 1st Mo Cav/G Resigned 62
Pilcher, H.A. 6th Mo Cav
Powell, Addison Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Discharged Big Black, Miss
Powell, Luther Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Died of Disease 1/15/62 Springfield
Pryor, John W. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/E
Rhoades, Joseph R. Pvt 3rd Mo Inf/E Died Union Town, Ala., Oct. 64
Rowhough, Leonard Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Died of Disease 1/1/62 Springfield, Mo.
Sheeler, John C. Sgt 1st Mo Cav/G Detached Des Arc, Ark.
Shultz, George Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Jonesburo 9/4/64
Shultz, George E. 1Sgt. 1st Mo Cav/G Captured Blakeley, Ala.
Shultz, Sidney A. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Died of Disease 2/16/65 Nashville, Tenn.
Shultz, William H. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Transferred West of Mississippi
Smith, Emanuel 3Lt. MOSG/C-ECB-4D MOSB-Price
Smith, George H. 3rd Mo Inf
Smith, Stephen H. Civilian POW #912 UCV
Smith, William A. Sgt. 3rd Mo Inf/E 3/8/62 KIA Pea Ridge, Ark.
Speery, Samuel F. Civ POW
Sperry, John H. Cpl. 1st Mo Cav/G Wounded Pine Mt. Med. Ret.
Starks, John T. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Died of Disease L.R. Ark. 5/10/62
Sutliff, Richard 1Sgt. 1st Mo Cav/G Died of Disease Alton, Ill. 6/2/62
Taylor, Obadiah 3rd Mo Inf. Camp #912 UCV
Thomas, A.W. (M) Dr. 49th TN Inf. Camp #912 UCV
Tinder, W.M. 4th Va Inf Pension #644
Tomlinson, John E. Pvt. William’s Cav. Camp #912 UCV
Vallandingham, Geo. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/F Died of Disease Granada, Miss. 1/6/63
Vallandingham, Richard L. Pvt. 11th Mo Inf/H Camp #912 UCV
Waldon, Joseph J. Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/B Died of Disease Rock Island, Ill. 2/15/65
Watson, David Pvt. 1st Mo Cav/G Discharge 11/12/62
Weldon, H.R. Pvt. MOSG/G-1C-4D MOSB-Price
West, Jacob Pvt. 4th Mo Cav/B
Williams, George Pvt. MOSG Cav/Rives Camp #912 UCV
Williams, Rodgers Pvt. MOSG Cav/Rives Camp #912 UCV
Wilson, Samuel Pvt. 2nd Tx Battery Camp #912 UCV
Winburn, Jason Pvt. 2nd Ky. Cav Camp #912 UCV
Woods, James E. Pvt. 3rd Mo Inf/B 10/5/63 KIA Corinth, Miss.
Woods, John H. Capt. 16th VA Cav/I Camp #912 UCV
Worrell, Asa Bolt’s Brg/K Camp #912 UCV
Wortman, N.H. 4Cpl. 1st Mo. Cav/G Died 5/18/63 Vicksburg, Miss.

Researched by David Stark

Historic Homes at Weston

Six historic homes await you at Weston, Missouri.

Six historic homes await you at Weston, Missouri.



McNair Home, 720 Fourth Street Built in 1906, by William Calvert, this three-story, adapted four-square home was considered a retirement home in the "city." Mr Calvert was a polished gentleman farmer and an outspoken Democrat. He and his wife, Nora Calvert, raised three children, Lewis Cass, Fannie and William George. Lewis Cass would go o?n to become o?ne of Weston’s most noted doctors. He continued his practice into the 1950’s. In 1936, President Harry S. Truman spent the night in what is now the dining room. Mr Truman was in Weston to support the local school superintendent in his campaign for the county office. As you enter through the oak front door with the oval beveled glass porthole, notice the white oak and yellow pine floors with six-inch casements and woodwork. The front entry way displays an English handmade rocking horse with genuine horse hair. This unique piece is crafted of 18 different woods carefully plied together. The 1880’s walnut hall tree and umbrella stand are local treasures. In the living room, a Persimmon wood and marble mantel is a piece rescued from a Quality Hill mansion. This warm and friendly room also displays an early 1800’s Victorian game table with beautiful hand-carved legs and an 1850 English mirrored buffet. Ms. McNair will also display her collection of over 40 bobbins and spools, collected from various parts of the United States. The dining room, a favorite part of the home, will reflect a cheery Victorian Christmas. A hand-tatted tablecloth gracing the center table belonged to Ms. McNair’s great-grandmother. This room also features a late 1800’s English chiffarobe converted to a wine cabinet. The kitchen has undergone extensive renovations. What was o?nce a stubby dark pantry has been opened into an interesting bay that extends from the ground level up to the third floor. As you leave the home through a side door, continue to your right into the driveway. Gazing upward, you will notice the semi-circular stained glass window o?n the north wall. This wonderful piece was salvaged from a Victorian era church in Fayette, Missouri.

Lindemeyer-Blunt House, 627 Blackhawk Street In 1846, this land was purchased by W.G. Noble, an early merchant and o?ne of Weston’s original City Fathers. The land was granted by President Polk with a purchase price of $5.00. In 1848, he brought his bride to Weston and built this lovely home. In the late 1870’s it was purchased by Henry C. Turner. When he passed away in 1912, his wife, Missouri Tennessee Turner, inherited the property. It remained in the Turner family for many years and was later purchased by Fred and Ruth Lindsey Lindemeyer. They resided in the home until Ruth’s death in 1972. Following "Mr. Fred’s" death the home was purchased by their great-niece. The present owners, Doug and Sue Blunt, are o?nly the fourth family to won the property since its construction in 1848. The original Federal-style, two-story house was built with the front facing the Missouri River to the southwest. The original front porch has been remodeled and is presently being used as a sunroom. The back porch was enlarged and is now a second bathroom and utility room. Sidewalks lead the way from either porch to the "summer kitchen." It remains in its original state to the west of the hand-blown glass cuts. The ceiling and floor braces are 2 x 8 inch hand-hewn ash. The walls are four-brick thick and were made in the brick factory in Weston. In the early 1870’s the front portion of the home, facing the street, containing the present living room, master bedroom and dressing room were added o?n as a "parlor" and living room being divided by French doors. The two front doors are original to the structure with the exception of the leaded windows crafted by a local glass smith. The Blunt’s are avid collectors and will present "Christmas in the 1800’s" with interesting antique items throughout the home.

Benner House Bed and Breakfast, 645 Main Street The Benner House Bed and Breakfast was built in 1898 by Mr. George Shawhan, owner of the Shawhan Distillery, known today as McCormick Distillery. Listed o?n the National Register of historic Places, this lovely Victorian home is a fine example of steamboat Gothic architecture. In the 1900’s the home was purchased by Mr. Charles Benner, a gentleman farmer, who preferred to live in the "city." The home remained in the Benner family until 1986 when it was purchased by Ken and Karen West and converted into a bed and breakfast. The present owners, John and Julie Pasley, have continued with the traditions of the early 1900’s . The home is beautifully decorated with antiques and turn-of-the-century pieces. Upon entering the home, o?ne immediately steps back in time. The double wrap-around porches, gingerbread detail and large windows overlooking the verandas, enhance the spaciousness of this lovely old home. Original hand-carved oak and beveled glass grace the front doorway along with brass lighting fixtures leading the way up the hand-carved oak staircase. To the right is the sitting room with a ? bath. All the rooms have ten-foot ceilings, six-foot windows, oak woodwork and pine floors. To the left is the parlor with the original tile fireplace and gas logs that are dated 1902. The pump organ is dated 1911, and if o?ne pumps hard enough, it works. The dining room is furnished with a beautiful Eastlake oak table and marble sideboard. The kitchen has oak cabinets with blue-stained glass panels. The original wainscoting has been used as a backsplash. There are four guest rooms upstairs, all with private baths. Descending the staircase, note the dust catchers in the corners, the housekeeper certainly appreciates these. The hall bathroom o?n your right contains a beautiful claw-foot tub, pedestal sink and water closet. The back bedroom has a old white iron bed with a warm cozy quilt made by John’s grandmother. The next bedroom has a lovely three-piece bedroom set made of chestnut and boasts the color pink. The front bedroom provides an overview of downtown Weston. Lending to the comfort of this cozy room is a yo-yo quilt and oak bedroom set. Across the hall, an unusual brass bed has become a favorite with guests. This room overlooks Main Street. In the hallway you will find a lovely cherry love seat and an oak printer’s desk that belonged to John’s parents. All of the photographs in the home are members from both sides of the family. Note the hallway photo of Julie’s mother, who served in WWI. She brought the sword home as a souvenir. As you exit the house through the kitchen, the beauty of this wonderful old home extends into the backyard gardens, where a hot tub and deck have been added. To the side of the home is a beautiful water garden.

Kemmerer-Wilson House, 635 Main Street Built in 1843, this Greek Revival cottage, at 633 Main Street, has been owned by several of Weston’s notable families. Early o?n the home was owned by Lorenzo Dow Bird, o?ne of the town’s first attorneys and an original city father. For more than 60 years it was home to the Kemmerer family. "Miss Rose" Kemmerer was a favorite school teacher and a noted musician. Fashioned of rock, hand-hewn Missouri walnut logs and clapboard siding, the simple saltbox is distinguished by an expansive columnar porch and a multi-paned, transom entry way. Anchor stones at the front walk were original carriage stepping stones. Originally designed in the "dog trot" style…a center hall running from front to back with rooms o?n either side, reveals the periodic updates of the families who resided here. The Greek Revival window and door millwork add a classic to the formal living areas. An original converted gas lamp in the front hall displays a fleur-de-lis design that is repeated in decorating touches throughout the cottage. The Master’s bedroom o?n the right presents an interesting effect with a mahogany four-poster bed, an antique mahogany wishbone dresser, an Americana trunk and small "tuck-away" closet. Gracing the scene is a Dresden Plate quilt and pillow. A warm and friendly parlor features a carved walnut love seat in vintage red silk. Silver and china accessories are displayed o?n antique walnut and mahogany tables. As visual reminders of Weston’s river port days, this room also displays a hand painted fire aboard with tobacco leaf motif, a small pine trunk decorated with an early Weston scene and the Ernst Ulmer print of Weston…The Landing o?n the Missouri. An early center hall reconfiguration created the present-day dining room. The circa 1840 cherry drop-leaf table is set with English china and American silverplate in anticipation of the family’s Christmas Eve supper. Hickox chairs await the diners. The circa 1870 built-in corner cabinet displays hand painted china. The study, kitchen and a small bedroom were reclaimed from the open porch that extended the full length of the house. The floors of the porch, which originally sloped to encourage drainage from rain and snow, remain as reminders of this long-ago configuration. The Kemmerer-Wilson cottage invites guests to enjoy "A Dickens Christmas." In 1843, the year the house was built, Charles Dickens wrote his celebrated classic, A Christmas Carol in Prose, Being a Ghost Story. Natural and man-made materials that were available in that time period have been used to interpret the holiday season. Each room also features the quaint German tradition of the decorated tree with an unique theme.

The Baker Building, 519 Main Street ?On tour for the first time is the second floor apartment at 519 Main Street. Built in an alley way in approximately 1879, this three-story brick building, is a nicely restored example of Georgian Colonial Revival architecture. The beautiful arched windows were very popular after the Civil War. The building still features hardwood floors, 12′ ceilings and walls three bricks thick. Although more commonly known as the Baker Building, it has been speculated that this structure was designed by Jacob Mettier as an extension of his building next door. The first well documented owner was Julian Baker in 1889. Mr. Baker operated Baker’s harness and Saddle Shop at this location for 45 years. The second floor was originally designed as an apartment and later served as a lodge hall. In the 1930’s this became the Murphy’s Apartments with living quarters o?n all three floors. In 1987, the building was renovated and the main level and basement were o?nce again turned into store fronts. The upper two stories remained apartments. The current residents, Gary and Elizabeth Wenig, are following the traditions of early merchants by living above their shop. True to the time period of the structure, an elegant Victorian theme prevails throughout the apartment. A back bedroom, with magnificent arched windows, also provides a lovely view of Weston’s City Park. Front room window seats furnish a cozy spot overlooking the downtown historic district. This has also become a favorite resting place for the family pets, Ginger, Peach and Turbo. For this special tour, the entire apartment will be decorated to reflect a real Victorian Christmas. o?n display will be period clothing and vintage laces from Elizabeth’s private collection. Entering the property through a small alley, you will notice the winter version of the lovely backyard water gardens. Follow the luminaries next to the historic Methodist Church o?n Main Street.

French’s Loft, 420 Main Street Located in the downtown historic district, and new to this year’s tour, is the pre-Civil War loft at 420 Main Street. Owners, Russel and Terri French recently renovated the building that also houses the McCormick Country Store o?n the main floor. In the mid-1800’s many of Weston’s early merchants were German immigrants. The downtown area, which was considered quite stylish for its time, resembled the villages in Germany and other parts of Europe. With limited transportation, most of the business owners also resided in the downtown area. Second and third floors were often used as apartments and offices. Prior to the Civil War, this spacious 1800-square-foot loft was the home of B.F. Freeland, an early merchant, who conducted a dry goods business o?n the main floor. In 1866 A.H. O’Dowd purchased the building and extensive changes were made to the original structure. Mr. O’Dowd dealt in furniture and provisions with undertaking as a specialty. Through the years the second floor loft also provided living quarters for several grocery store owners. Today, restored to its original form, exposed hand-hewn ceiling beams and original brick walls add warmth and charm to a mixture of traditional and collectible furnishings. Entering the loft, up an original oak staircase, you’re welcomed by a friendly kitchen joined with a cozy sitting area. A wood-burning parlor stove adds a pleasing effect to an already delightful atmosphere. Light and airy with white glass cabinets and clever cinder block walls, the kitchen also provides a bird’s-eye view of the towering steeples of the historic Holy Trinity Catholic Church. A short hallway descends into a chic, yet simple dining room where soft lighting, muted tones and traditional artwork compliment the beauty of rustic walls and ceilings. Crown molding, topping a quaint bedroom enclosure, enhances the unique style. A large, raised living room, with lush neutral carpeting, classic striped sofas and paned glass windows, creates a soothing environment distinguished by a variety of plant life. A small balcony joins the front of the loft to provide a romantic overview of the historic downtown area. Left behind by the southern influence of Weston’s early settlers, a picturesque alley way with a New Orleans flavor, provides an entrance to the loft. Follow the luminaries to Thomas Street, east of Main Street.

Source: Christmas in Weston brochure, 1997 Candlelight Homes Tour, Sponsored by Weston Development Company

Watkins Woolen Mill

More than 100 years ago, the Bethany plantation, now part of the Watkins Mill State Historic Site, was a bustling center of activity for rural communities in Clay County, Missouri.

More than 100 years ago, the Bethany plantation, now part of the Watkins Mill State Historic Site, was a bustling center of activity for rural communities in Clay County, Missouri.

In its heyday the plantation, owned by Waltus Watkins, included an elegant home and a three-story mill where wool was spun into yarn, woven into cloth and blankets, and sold in bolts at the small general store located on the first floor. A church and octagonal school building were built adjacent to the plantation, which also had a brick kiln, sawmill, gristmill, and blacksmith shop.

The story of the plantation and of Watkins Mill begins in 1830 when Watkins, a native of Kentucky, joined many other young men of the period in a move westward. Watkins settled in Liberty, Missouri, and, after an unsuccessful attempt at cotton milling, he purchased 80 acres of land in the northwest corner of Clay County and turned his interests to agriculture.

Watkins, new occupation proved more successful than his milling venture, and his land holdings ultimately encompassed several thousand acres.Watkins, however, never gave up the idea of textile production and in 1861, at the age of 55, he launched the major venture of his life — the Watkins Woolen Mill.

Like the plantation home he built earlier, the mill was constructed of brick, handmade at the site, and was supported by timbers cut from his land. The mill contained more than 50 machines, which had been shipped by steamboat from the East via the Ohio, Mississippi, and the Missouri rivers.

The boiler, which measured 30 feet in length, and the steam engine to power it were shipped from St. Louis to the river landing at Missouri City, and, like the other machines, were hauled some 20 miles to the mill site by teams of oxen.By May of 1861, Watkins Mill was ready for operation.

During the Civil War, Watkins did a steady business selling blankets and cloth. After the war he turned to trade, and by the late 1860s the factory was running at nearly full production, consuming some forty to sixty thousand pounds of woolen fleece annually.The mill continued to prosper through the 1870s.

Although it remained in business off and on for years, it never again reached its former level of production. Finally, in the late 1880’s, the increased competition and availability of ready-made clothing forced the mill out of business. In the 1950s, the mill was acquired by the Watkins Mill Association and opened to the public. In 1963, voters of Clay County passed a bond issue to purchase the mill and surrounding acreage, then turned it over to the state of Missouri.

In 1966, Watkins Woolen Mill, the only fully equipped 19th-century textile mill left in the country, was designated as a National Historic Landmark. Today, the state historic site, which includes the mill, plantation house, school, church, and outbuildings, and the adjoining state park are administered by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Division of Parks and Historic Preservation.

What to See… Watkins Mill is the country’s only 19th-century textile factory with its original machinery intact. The mill is open to visitors all year, with the exception of Christmas, New Year’s Day, Easter, and Thanksgiving. Tours are given Monday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., on winter Sundays from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., and summer Sunday’s from 12 noon to 6 p.m. Special group tours may be arranged by contacting the historic site office. A nominal fee is charged.

Watkins Home… Built in 1850, portions of the old Watkins home are open to the public. Many of the original furnishings remain. An unusual walnut staircase leading to the second floor enhances this home, built in the Greek Revival style of architecture.

Other Buildings… Mt. Vernon Church (1871) and the Franklin School (1856), an interesting octagonal building, have been restored. In addition, the fruit-drying shed, summer kitchen, and a smoke-house have been restored and are now open to visitors. Source: Watkins Woolen Mill brochure, Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Division of Parks and Historic Preservation, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102

Hand-crank Makes for a Unique Antique

Unusual “squirrel cage” jail, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also serves as a visitors’ information center in Gallatin, MO.

Unusual “squirrel cage” jail, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also serves as a visitors’ information center in Gallatin, MO.

  • Only 3 of its kind left in existence
  • Octagon jail structure housing 8 “pie-shaped” cells
  • Hand crank rotated the “squirrel cage”
  • Unique design, outside cage area for exercise and dining; women’s cells upstairs
  • Original squirrel cage was dismantled in 1964 for safety; the jail was closed in 1975
  • Renovation project to continue with efforts now to focus on sheriff’s residence

Rotary jails, where a round “squirrel cage” divided into jail cells spins on a single axis inside a perimeter of stationary bars, are antiques. Six rotary jails are known to have been constructed, all variations off the patented design by the Pauley Jail Building & Mfg. Company of St. Louis. only three still stand as visual markers of yesteryear. The Daviess County Squirrel Cage Jail was completed in 1889. Its unique architectural design provided answers to concerns about prisoner security, worries about both prisoners breaking out and accomplices breaking in. Sanitation, winter heating, and hand-crank operation were problems. With modifications, the jail was in use until 1975. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As you visit, notice how authentic jail bars are beveled and metal plates riveted. Look inside the inmates? locker, secured by antique combination lock since it houses the hand crank which once spun the jail cells. Walk into the cramped pie-shaped cells many were forced to call home for various periods of time. Visitor literature and gift shop items available.

Seasonal operation of the facility as a visitors’ information center will be underwritten by proceeds from an endowment made possible through the estate of Helen Roosevelt in memoriam to her maternal grandfather, Henry Clay McDougal. Informational displays about significant historical facts about Daviess County and Northwest Missouri are on display.

Daviess County Sheriffs Who Used This Facility

  • 1888 Gabe W. Cox
  • 1890 O.P. Walters
  • 1892 E.S. Lankford
  • 1896 William A. Johnson
  • 1900 R.D. McCray
  • 1904 William T. Hutchison
  • 1908 J.A. Blair
  • 1920 J. Frank Gildow
  • 1926 B.B. Houghton
  • 1930 Frank Sweany
  • 1934 W.T. Hutchison
  • 1938 Frank Sweany
  • 1942 Harry Reeder
  • 1946 Frank Sweany
  • 1954 A.F. Clements, Jr.
  • 1958 S.L. Houghton
  • 1970 Harold Appley

J.C. Penney left a legacy in his hometown

Besides its friendly people and strong sense of community, Hamilton’s biggest claim to fame was one of the world’s most famous retailers, J.C. Penney.

Besides its friendly people and strong sense of community, Hamilton’s biggest claim to fame was one of the world’s most famous retailers, J.C. Penney.

James Cash Penney was born Sept. 16, 1875, in Hamilton, started his retailing career here and went West. He eventually spread a chain of department stores across the nation along with his competitors and colleagues, Sears Kresge, Woolworth and others.

The values he learned growing up in Hamilton became the foundation of his business and personal life. He never forgot his ties to the hometown, returning often for visits. He helped the community often both financially and by instilling residents with a feeling of pride in their community.

In the past two decades, Hamiltonians have actively sought to preserve Penney’s legacy. The J.C. Penney Memorial Library and Museum was built with donations, many from former penney Co. Managers, and dedicated in 1976. It attracts several hundred visitors from all over the U.S. each year. The basement of the building serves as a community room for meetings and receptions.

In 1988 his boyhood home was saved from razing and moved to the center of Hamilton. It sits on the site of the former railroad depot and has been renovated outside. The Penney House will be refurbished inside and serve as a welcome center for visitors. It will also be the main attraction in a new park.

Penney himself was instrumental in Hamilton’s economic development. As soon as his first employer, J. M. Hale retired, Penney opened the 500th Penney’s store in his hometown. He also bought a house in town, renting all but one room of it to the manager of the store. He kept that room for his frequent visits to Hamilton.

Local residents who knew him recall that on his visits to Hamilton, he’d often work in the store, sweeping the floor, stocking displays and waiting on customers.

He purchased a farm east of town and made it an agricultural showplace during the Depression. The farm was stocked with draft horses and Angus cattle. In 1938 he sponsored a field day at the farm, attracting some 8,000 people to view and judge for themselves the fine blood lines of the animals. This was a forerunner of Hamilton’s judging days, which the local FFA chapter holds each year.

J.C. Penney donated lots of money and time to special Hamilton projects, including the first library, the shoe factory, the high school and even Highland Cemetery.

Penney donated $10,000 to build the public library on the condition that local residents raise $5,000 to purchase the site and furnishings. The building was completed in 1920, the first free public library in the country.

Penney placed lots of importance on a good education. He donated money for building the new Hamilton High School in 1951 and for a junior high addition in 1956. The school was named J.C. Penney High School in his honor.

Penney donated money for an all-weather road to Highland Cemetery. He also contributed to the American Legion Memorial Park, made a gift to the Kidder Institute College Endowment Fund and was a stockholder of the Hamilton Bank when it opened in 1938.

The famous retailer believed Hamilton should have a factory, so he went to officials of the International Shoe Company and told them if they would establish a shoe factory in Hamilton, the Penney Company and told them if they would establish a shoe factory in Hamilton, the Penney Company would purchase the complete output of children’s shoes from it. The first pair of children’s shoes produced in that factory is now on display in the Penney Museum.

To celebrate the many contributions of Penney and to keep his legacy alive in Hamilton, local organizations cooperate to stage J.C. Penney Days every second weekend in June. The celebration features a lecture series on an economic development topic, an event which is always attended by Penney’s nephew, E.R. (Bob) Penney, a generous contributor to Hamilton’s Penney legacy. Bob was instrumental in establishing a Penney trust fund to maintain the museum building.

Talent contests, music, square dancing, a pet parade, flea market and craft show and other events combine to make Penney Days an enjoyable occasion for local and out-of-town visitors alike. The event continues to grow since the first one was held in 1987.

Source: Hamilton, Missouri — Community Guide, August 1990

Hyde Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Rescuing a mansion that had been sitting empty for 10 or 12 years seemed natural to Robert and Carolyn Brown of Trenton. (Source: The Princeton Post-Telegraph, Vol. 120 No. 15)

Rescuing a mansion that had been sitting empty for 10 or 12 years seemed natural to Robert and Carolyn Brown of Trenton. (Source: The Princeton Post-Telegraph, Vol. 120 No. 15)

The two, who are in real estate themselves, learned the Hyde Mansion was for sale through another real estate agent and decided to look at the property. “I told Robert it would be the perfect bed and breakfast house,” Carolyn said.

The couple purchased the mansion, located at 418 E. 7th, in 1988 and began to renovate the property that was planned and constructed by former Gov. Arthur Hyde. Even though the mansion was “perfect” for a bed and breakfast home, the business almost did not get started.

“We had to redo two walls in the basement before we could even start,” Robert said. “That really wasn’t the problem though, we just got worn out by trying to do all the main floor ourselves.

“After a couple of months rest, we just hired more help so we wouldn’t get so tired,” he said.

The main floor of the colonial-style mansion consists of a parlor, dining room, kitchen, family breakfast room, family den, office and master bedroom and bath. The upstairs holds the bedrooms with baths and a common room for all guests to use. Carolyn picked out the paper for the entry hallway walls first and the color scheme of mauve, blues, ivory and blushes are used throughout the house.

Upon entering through the front door and hallway, one gets a glimpse of the front parlor which is done in ivory walls, with marble inlaid tables, settees, chairs, a grand piano and wood-burning fireplace. The light fixtures in the hallway, parlor and throughout the house are original with gold plating.

“They didn’t spare any money on the house,” Robert said. “The floors are hardwood and each room has a double dry wall. The siding is redwood and all the dimensional lumber is Douglas fir that was handpicked and shipped in.”

The home, built and designed by a Kansas City architect, cost $125,000 to build when the Governor decided to plan the family home. Even though the Governor died in 1947 before the mansion was finished, his wife, Hortense Cullors Hyde, made the decision to complete the home.

“We were able to add all the bathrooms without changing the structure of the home,” Robert said. “There is a 12-inch gap between the floors that allowed us to do that.”

The home had all the modern conveniences of the day, and in the master bedroom, there is a button built into the wall where Mrs. Hyde could summon the upstair maid or a live-in companion.

“It really has been fun to try to keep everything as original as possible and still make this a comfortable bed and breakfast inn,” Carolyn said.

Each of the upstairs rooms has a color television, queen-sized bed, chairs or couches, phones and personal bath.

“The Governor’s Suite has two rooms that are connected by a hallway,” she said. “It makes it nice for two couples who want privacy and yet want to be able to visit.”

At the end of the hallway is a round table and four chairs with lots of books in which to browse.

“The exit at this end of the hallway also allows people to come and go as they want without bothering us,” she said.

The back stairway also opens onto a screened porch with the perfect lounging furniture. In the morning, the guests are treated to a huge country-style breakfast. Eggs are fixed as the guest wants and served with sausage, ham or bacon. Muffins, biscuits, toast and fresh fruit as well as breakfast drinks also are offered.

“We used to have a cook,” Robert said, “but now we do it ourselves. We enjoy it, but really do need some help now that summer is arriving.”

The kitchen is Robert’s specialty. He was a meatcutter for years and definitely knows his way around the kitchen. “These are the original cabinets,” he says, pointing with pride.

The Browns had a body man come from Kansas City and sandblast the cabinets and then repaint them. Their son, Greg, took off every piece of wallpaper and painted the upstairs, and all the woodwork has been sanded and painted. Robert also is proud of the fact that even though they do not have to have hotel management standards since they live in the house, the Hyde Mansion meets all specifications.

“We have a hand sink and a three-bay sink in the kitchen, circuit breaker plugins, separate baths, 18 smoke alarms and two exits from each floor,” he said.

The Browns also renovated the basement to handle the laundry and have a separate kitchen there.

“We have a laundry chute from each floor,” Carolyn said. “We also have two washers and dryers to handle the loads.”

Although the Browns cook the breakfast and register the guests, their housekeeper is responsible for the rest. Nancy Taul does all the washing, cleaning and making of the beds.

“We still run the real estate business as well as this, and we just don’t have the time,” Robert said. They both enjoy spending time with their many guests, and also love to be in this mansion that they have re-created. Pictures, two by Mercer Countians grace the walls. It only seems fitting since Gov. Hyde was born in Princeton and his wife’s family, the Charles Horace Cullors lived between Princeton and Trenton in Buttsville.

Ann Albers Dusenbery has a colored pencil drawing of the mansion hanging in the dining area, and Dr. Byron Axtell has an oil of daffodils hanging in the parlor. Books are found throughout the house as well as numerous knick knacks to make the guests feel at home.

“We are not like a motel,” Carolyn said. “We offer the privacy of one but the added extra touches of home.”

Source: The Post-Telegraph, Volume 120 Number 15, April 6, 1992

Where Presidents & Gangsters Stayed

On election night, Nov. 2, 1948, President Harry S. Truman paid a surprise visit to The Elms resort in Excelsior Springs to escape the mounting tension surrounding his close race with Thomas Dewey. But today, you don’t have to be in a presidential race to enjoy the seclusion and charm of The Elms. Recently expanded and refurbished, the resort offers a haven of serenity just 30 minutes north of Kansas City.

On election night, Nov. 2, 1948, President Harry S. Truman paid a surprise visit to The Elms resort in Excelsior Springs to escape the mounting tension surrounding his close race with Thomas Dewey. But today, you don’t have to be in a presidential race to enjoy the seclusion and charm of The Elms. Recently expanded and refurbished, the resort offers a haven of serenity just 30 minutes north of Kansas City.

After its renovation last year, the three-story resort resembles the same sprawling stone-and-timber resort that Franklin Roosevelt, John D. Rockefeller and Al Capone once sought out as a retreat from the public eye. With that era in mind, the 152 guest rooms and suites were appointed to evoke the elegance of bygone days.

The Elms is rooted in a history of alternative healing because of the area’s mineral springs. Once believed to have healing powers, the waters are still used by the redesigned spa, which helps rejuvenate guests. The Spa offers Swiss and Vichy showers; mud, seaweed and aloe wraps; massages; whirlpools; and mineral baths.

The resort also features casual and fine dining options, two lounges, a fitness center, salon services, jogging track, sauna, steam rooms, pool, whirlpool, hiking/biking trails and a challenge course, with a climbing wall and rope course.

The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception

The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception is the focal point of all the buildings and activities of Conception Abbey/Seminary College. It stands as a monument of the dreams and religious fervor of the forebearers of the monastic community of conception, and the early settlers of northwest Missouri. But it is more than just a monument, for it serves a living community of monks, students, and guests as a place of spiritual renewal.

The Basilica of the Immaculate Conception is the focal point of all the buildings and activities of Conception Abbey/Seminary College. It stands as a monument of the dreams and religious fervor of the forebearers of the monastic community of conception, and the early settlers of northwest Missouri. But it is more than just a monument, for it serves a living community of monks, students, and guests as a place of spiritual renewal.

The Basilica is used daily for private prayer as well as the celebration of the Liturgy of the Hours and the Eucharist.

The Basilica owes its origin primarily to the inspiration and energy of Conception’s founder and first abbot, Frowin Conrad (1833-1923). Abbot Frowin came to Conception from the Swiss abbey of Engelberg with just one other monk in 1873. By 1879, the young Benedictine community was large enough for him to begin planning a permanent monastery and church. The first drawing of such a plan in the Abbey’s archives goes back to that year. In the same year, Abbot Frowin wrote in his diary: “The church and monastery should be built as much as possible in the simple, straightforward and dignified romanesque style.” As early as 1873, he indicated he wanted the church in this style because he felt that its noble simplicity was better suited for a monastic community.

The church’s foundation was begun in 1882. Difficulty in funding the project, and in finding an architect who understood romanesque architecture, delayed completion until nine years later when it was solemnly dedicated during a torrential rainstorm on May 10, 1891. In spite of the weather, it was a glorious day for both monks and the local parishioners. The monks – especially Abbot Frowin – had toiled to raise the $150,000 needed to build the 48,000 square-foot church. The parishioners contributed to the cause as they could, often hauling stones and brick side-by-side with the monks. It has been estimated that it would now cost ten to fifteen million dollars to build such a church!

In 1893, during one of his visits to Engelberg, Abbot Frowin received a telegram from Prior Pius Conrad at Conception. The church had been struck by a tornado. The news devastated him. We can only imagine his relief when, a few weeks later, he learned that only the north transept had been badly damaged and that repairs were already underway.

There was a silver lining to the cloud of the church’s near destruction, for in the two years since its dedication, three young artists had joined the community. Since a large part of the building had to be replastered, why not, a young Fr. Lukas Etlin suggested, redecorate it in the innovative, Egyptian-inspired style of art being developed at the German monastery of Beuron? Abbot Frowin had long been an admirer of the type of monastic and liturgical observances which originated at Beuron.

With the Abbot’s blessing, a band of several monks repainted the abbey church – borrowing elements from Beuronese decorative style and from contemporary victorian stenciling techniques. The final result in 1897 made for a breathtaking panorama. In the end though, Abbot Frowin had to agree with one of the Basilica’s critics when he wrote,” I would agree with your judgement about our church, that, with regard to the paintings, it is somewhat overdone. If we were to begin again – which God forbid – some things would be simplified.”

The most striking feature of the Basilica’s interior is its collection of colorful Beuronese murals. The four transept murals are copies from the Life of Benedict cycle originally painted at the abbey of Monte Cassino in Italy. The eighteen murals in the central axis are copies from the Life of Mary cycle painted in the church of Emaus Abbey in Prague, Czechoslovakia. The originals in both monasteries were destroyed during World War II, leaving Conception’s murals as perhaps the most complete set of replicas.

The church’s towers were completed in 1897. One tower houses five bells – the smallest being the oldest (1891) and the largest, weighing 3800 lbs, having been acquired as recently as 1941. The other tower contains a long-abandoned water tank.

Electricity was installed in 1916, and , apart from the construction of a new “temporary” sanctuary in 1963 in anticipation of the renewal of the Church’s liturgy, little has been done to the building.

Pope Pius XII conferred upon the abbey church the title of “minor basilica” in 1940, recognizing its artistic merit, the quality of the liturgy celebrated within its walls, and the fact that it was visited by many pilgrims. It is one of thirty-four minor basilicas in the United States, the fifth (and first west of the Mississippi) so-designated. The title “minor basilica” is an honorary one, connoting a special relationship to the Apostolic See in Rome and to the original major basilicas of that ancient city.

For some, the monastic community has been aware that the Basilica needs extensive repair. The renewal of monastic and liturgical life over the last twenty-five years gave greater urgency to the project. During almost the entire decade of the 80s, the monks were involved in numerous presentations by liturgical and artistic experts, discussions, studies, and surveys concerning their worship space.

After careful and prayerful deliberation, the community settled on the shape they want the Basilica’s renovation to take (calling it a “renewal” because, much like the renewal of the Church in general mandated by Vatican II, the renovation retains familiar elements, goes back to earlier architectural and liturgical elements, and also has some innovations).

The planned renewal will preserve and enhance the Basilica’s romanesque architecture and Beuronese art. The floor plan will be adapted to contemporary ecclesiastical directives. And the space will be simplified and lightened – thereby reclaiming Abbot Frowin’s original desire for the noble simplicity of a romanesque church.

(Note: The material for this historical overview was provided by Bro. Samuel Russell.) Source: Tower Topics, Vol. IV, No. 4. Conception, MO Winter 1990

Authenticity Attracts Attention

The Amish are known for helping their neighbors in times of need. Rescuing an entire town from obscurity would have seemed to much to ask, though ? even for the Amish. But that’s essentially what they did for Jamesport.

The Amish are known for helping their neighbors in times of need. Rescuing an entire town from obscurity would have seemed to much to ask, though ? even for the Amish. But that’s essentially what they did for Jamesport.

In 1985 a group of Jamesport merchants got together in the back of a local antique store and brainstormed on ways to keep their town from quietly slipping off the map, like so many other rural communities. Shop owners Gary and Carol Ellis spearheaded an effort to initiate a Christmas festival. The idea was to draw tourists attracted by the Amish families who comprise the largest Amish community in Missouri. That festival was a success.

Today an estimated 75,000 to 100,000 tourists come to the four or five annual festivals hosted by Jamesport. Many come to get a look at yesteryear’s farm life and see Amish roaming through the town in their simple, hard-sewn clothes. The black, horse-drawn carriages are common along Highway 190 and Highway 6 as well as on the various gravel roads. Other tourists come to brouse through the antique shops and crafts. There’s nothing in North Missouri like a Branson nor is there much interest for such here. But what visitors find here is authenticity and simplicity ? in a perky little small town atmosphere!

Keeping the Values of Life Simple

Missouri’s Amish center their lifestyle on family. Note: Although this first was published by the Associated Press, 1987, much of the information is still relevant today.

Missouri’s Amish center their lifestyle on family. Note: Although this first was published by the Associated Press, 1987, much of the information is still relevant today.

Down a dirt road running through recently harvested farm fields stands a link to the past — a o?ne-room Amish schoolhouse that church leaders say is vital to maintaining values.

Without such schools, leaders say, the Amish religion would die. The Amish reject materialism and seek a return to a simple, family-oriented life without electricity, telephones or cars.

Students receive an education through the eighth grade in the frame schoolhouse o?n the outskirts of Jamesport, a town 65 mile northeast of Kansas City. But more important to the rigid Amish code of conduct, the students learn obedience and respect for their elders.

The eighth grade probably is the highest-level formal education these children will receive.

In 1972 the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in a case originating in Wisconsin that Amish children were exempt from laws requiring them to attend school to age 16.

The decision noted that the Amish oppose high-school education because it places Amish children in a competitive atmosphere with pressure to conform with their peers.

Before the ruling, the Amish sometimes tried to keep their children away from high school by enrolling them late or encouraging them to flunk. That way, the children would be no higher than the eighth grade when they became 16.

"The ruling saved us," said a teacher in o?ne of the six schools serving the 150 Amish families living near Jamesport.

"Our children are attracted to evil things, just like other children out there, in high school, with the drugs and all that, there wouldn’t be any Amish, or the Amish would become so liberal they wouldn’t really be Amish."

The teacher did not want to be identified because he feared that some members of the Amish community would resent him for speaking to a reporter.

The o?ne-room schoolhouse has no electricity and is heated by a wood stove. The teacher comes to class by the traditional Amish mode, a horse-drawn buggy. The students – the girls in black bonnets and unadorned dresses closed at the neck, the boys in plain blue shirts and trousers – walk to class.

If a student were to gaze outside he would see — out past the boys’ and girls’ outhouses — rolling farmland, grain silos and a barn.

But the students don’t gaze outside. It’s not permitted.

"I won’t tolerate them looking around; then everything would come apart," the teacher said.

He said unruly students are brought before the "board of education" – a wooden paddle hanging o?n the wall next to the blackboard.

The Amish schools have earned the respect of Joe Dyke, the supervisor for the public-school district encompassing Jamesport.

"I think some English-speaking people laugh at their schools and say they’re a joke," he said. "But they haven’t been in there. Their schools are sometimes more quiet and tightly disciplined than our schools."

The Amish, who speak German at home, refer to Americans outside their church as "the English". Classes are conducted in English, and it is a school that many Amish children first are exposed to the language.

The Amish have communities in about 23 states. In 1953, attracted by cheap farm land, they began settling near Jamesport. About 3,500 Amish live in Missouri in some 16 counties.

One of the six bishops in the Jamesport area said radio and television has lured some youths away from the church but most return.

Some Amish also believe their church is threatened by the influx of tourists to Jamesport.

More than a dozen antique shops operated by non-Amish merchants have sprung up in the four-block downtown area in the last few years. There is also an Amish-owned shop o?n the out-skirts of town.

Non-Amish merchants have begun sponsoring crafts fairs. O?n weekends when the fairs are held, tourists — many attracted by the Amish — flood the streets. "It’s getting to be a regular nuisance," the bishop said. "It’s a matter of amusement (for the tourists), like going to Worlds of Fun."

Source: Associated Press, November, 1987 The Kansas City Star, Sunday, Nov. 8, 1987

About Amish Schools

When the Amish first moved into the Jamesport area in 1953, it was at the schools where their old-fashioned clothing and foreign language soon lost its strangeness. Amish youngsters were readily accepted into the public school system, but when enough Amish families moved into the area they established their own schools.

When the Amish first moved into the Jamesport area in 1953, it was at the schools where their old-fashioned clothing and foreign language soon lost its strangeness. Amish youngsters were readily accepted into the public school system, but when enough Amish families moved into the area they established their own schools.

Amish children were usually taught by unmarried Amish women similar to the country schools that dotted the countryside in the early 1900s. A wood stove heats the o?ne-room building. Girls in black bonnets and unadorned dresses closed at the neck and boys in plain blue shirts and trousers walk to class.

The number of schools operating in the Jamesport community varies (now six). A larger school may have two teachers while the smaller o?nes have o?ne, usually assisted by a younger girl just out of school who is gaining experience so that she may o?ne day teach. Subjects taught are the basics except that no science is included. English is used in the classroom although a Pennsylvania Dutch dialect is often used in the home. German is also taught since it is the language of their Bible.

The eighth grade is probably the highest level of formal education that Amish children get. The discipline during school years is important; it’s when pupils learn obedience and respect for their elders. In 1972, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in a case originating in Wisconsin that Amish children were exempt from laws requiring attendance in school to age 16. The decision noted that the Amish opposed high school education because it placed Amish children during adolescence in a competitive atmosphere with pressure to conform with their peers.

Most Amish complete eight grades of schooling and then join their families in such trades as farming and carpentry. Schools are financed by a "head tax," church membership tax and by land valuation which a family owns. Schools are dismissed in mid-April as older boys help with spring planting.

Differences Between Amish and Mennonites

Here’s a brief comparison and contrast:

Here’s a brief comparison and contrast:

AMISH — The Amish separated from the Mennonite fellowship in 1693 in Europe. They felt the Mennonites of that time were failing to practice things they believed were needful. Their leading minister was Jacob Ammann from whom they derived their name. Amish believe in a strict plain form of dress and other things regulated by the group and especially by their bishops. Amish believe their people should continue without change from modern things such as electricity, telephones, automobiles and tractors. Though without electricity, many homes have running water and bathrooms (unheard of in years past). Amish use horses for farming and transportation. Their lifestyle is to remain as in days of old. The largest Amish community in Missouri is found at Jamesport.

MENNONITES — While there are a number of different groups of people and churches called Mennonites in the world, this particular statement deals specifically with The Church of God in Christ, Mennonite. These Mennonite Christians also believe in plain, simple and modest dress. They believe in and require for membership a true spiritual experiences of the New Birth that Jesus said must be experienced to enter the kingdom of God and be saved. The power to be faithful in all things they hold must be from and by the Holy Spirit dwelling within. It should be noted that the use of modern things such as automobiles, electricity and telephones can be used by Mennonites with careful and proper control. But Mennonites do not find the use of radio or television to be for them since these are largely under the control of the carnal world and mostly harmful to true and pure spiritual living

About the Amish Church

At one time the Amish community at Jamesport was divided into six districts comprised of 12 to 30 families each.

At one time the Amish community at Jamesport was divided into six districts comprised of 12 to 30 families each.

Church meetings are held every other Sunday in a home in each district; the alternate Sunday is meant to be used for socializing. A family may visit relatives or friends or may choose to attend church in another district since services are scheduled in three places each Sunday. The German hymnals contain no music. Tunes are learned and passed from one generation to the next through a song leader. The sermon is given by the bishop of the district who serves in his capacity for his lifetime. Bishops are assisted by ministers and a deacon who also serve a lifetime.

All members of a family are expected to attend church in their district unless there is illness. Children from infancy attend 3-hour services with adults. The meeting is held twice in the same home before moving on to the next home. A simple meal is served by the host family, prepared prior to Sunday. The afternoon is spent visiting. All plan to return to their homes by chore time. Sunday night is reserved for young people to share in a “sing” at the same host home. It is during these get-togethers that lifetime partners are often shyly picked and courtships begin.

Church financing is by collections taken twice a year, when communion is served, usually in the spring and fall. A fund is maintained to help those in the church in need, such as for hospital bills or following a fire or death in the family. Baptism, by sprinkling, takes place by profession of faith, usually between the ages of 15 and 20.